Why We Serve

Our IOP Fellows engaged with members of the Florida Legislature as part of our “Why We Serve” initiative. This initiative, led by our Fellows, gives us a platform to share the motivators and drive that led our legislators into their role in public service. As an organization focused on promoting civic engagement in politics, we’re grateful for our legislators who sat down with IOP Fellows, giving them the opportunity to ask meaningful questions and receive valuable advice first-hand. By connecting with legislators getting to the root of “Why We Serve,” these videos serve as a source of inspiration, motivation, and guidance to our young leaders.

Rep. Ramon Alexander (D-Tallahassee)
Rep. Robin Bartleman (D-Weston)
Rep. Mike Caruso (R-Delray Beach)
Rep. Dan Daley (D-Sunrise)
Rep. Anna Eskamani (D-Orlando)
Rep. Juan Alfonso Fernandez-Barquin (R-Miami)
Rep. Randy Fine (R-Palm Bay)
Rep. Sam Garrison (R-Fleming Island)
Rep. Fred Hawkins (R-St. Cloud)
Rep. Christine Hunschofsky (D-Parkland)
Rep. Chris Latvala (R-Tampa)
Rep. Amber Mariano (R-Hudson)
Rep. Travaris L. “Tray” McCurdy (D-Orlando)
Rep. Scott Plakon (R-Longwood)
Rep. Michelle Salzman (R-Escambia)
Rep. Tyler Sirois (R-Merritt Island)
Rep. Emily Slosberg (D-Delray Beach)
Rep. David Smith (R-Winter Springs)
Rep. John Snyder (R-Hobe Sound)
Speaker Chris Sprowls (R-Palm Harbor)
Rep. Keith Truenow (R-Tavares)
Rep. Clay Yarborough (R-Jacksonville)

Sen. Loranne Ausley (D-Tallahassee)
Sen. Dennis Baxley (R-Lady Lake)
Sen. Lori Berman (D-Boynton Beach)
Sen. Jim Boyd (R-Bradenton)
Sen. Jason Brodeur (R-Lake Mary)
Sen. Ed Hooper (R-Palm Harbor)
Sen. Shevrin Jones (D-Miami Gardens)
Sen. Tina Polsky (D-Boca Raton)
Sen. Bobby Powell (D-West Palm Beach)
Sen. Victor Torres (D-Kissimmee)